Welcome to the new blog for Spartanburg Amateur Radio Club. While working on the newsletter for the club we realized that it would be nice to have a way to communicate with club members in a more consistent way that would allow us to get important events and news out to members quickly. Getting information from the blog is easy, sign up to follow the blog and you will receive an email notifying you that something has been posted or just check the blog periodically to see the latest new


Tuesday, November 29, 2011

SPARC Christmas Party - Reminder

The SPARC December Business Meeting will be held at Golden Coral located on W. O. Ezell Blvd. on December 6.  The fun and festivities will begin at 6:00 pm and all are invited to attend.  There will no cost for club members and guests will pay as they enter.  Come join us as we celebrate this wonderful time of year!   

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Ham Radio Licenses at an All Time High as report by Fox News

www.foxnews.com/scitech/2011/11/17/radio-days-are-back-ham-radio-licenses-at-all-time-high/Radio Days Are Back: Ham Radio Licenses at an All-Time High

The newest trend in American communication isn't another smartphone from Apple or Google but one of the elder statesmen of communication: Ham radio licenses are at an all time high, with over 700,000 licenses in the U.S.    For the complete story follow the link above.

Friday, November 18, 2011

Fall Feed 2011

On Saturday, October 29th, our club had its fall feed at Hibachi Buffet. About 45 club members and guests were on hand.  The next "feed" is our Christmas meal at Golden Corral on December 6, 2011, at 6 pm.  Club members eat for free.  Guests are welcome but must pay for their meal.  The staff of  CQ SPARC would like to thank Maxie, N4ENQ and Ora, K4WUJ for the Photos.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

SPARC Membership renewal is due January 1st 2012

Life Membership - $200
Regular Membership - $15/yr
Family/Student Membership - $8/yr
Board member elections for 2012

The Board of Directors consists of nine elected positions and W4NTO, a founding member.  The elected members are chosen to serve a three year term.  There are no term limits.  The Board is divided into three groups; every year, three people are ending their term and the membership must elect replacements.

On November 1st 2011, 33 members attended the November business meeting and cast their ballots.  Elected, for a three year term to the Board of Directors, were John Gunderson, N1JG; Ann Thompson, KI4MEE; and Mike Bonner, K4BON.  Congratulations to all three!

On January 17th, 2012, the new board will meet to elect officers and assign other special positions, including member at large, net manager, membership commitee chair and members, and program committe chair and members. 

Board for 2012
Board of Directors                                         Term expires at end of:

Reynold L. (Fritz) Nitsch W4NTO                                (Charter Member)

Niles Vaught K4RNV                                                    2012

Larry Abelkop W4ABE                                                  2012

Keith Lewis K4XP                                                          2012

Gary Foster K8HID                                                         2013

Rob Falkingham K4UD                                                  2013

Bret Philips N9LPT                                                        2013

John Gunderson N1JG                                                  2014

Ann Thompson KI4MEE                                                2014

Mike Bonner K4BON                                                      2014